Packers and Proud of my Puppy

I am such a homer. I just love the Green Bay Packers, they bring me joy where many things I have actual control over do not. Or do I have control?

After last night being very hard with Jack the Dog.. I slept in from 6am to about 130pm. Normally, this does not happen.. but since I only get to sleep in bed one night a week due to insomnia, my body took advantage and hopefully got caught up. I dreamed about the Packers. Being on the team. Getting to play for the most storied franchise in football history. I was a blocking Tight End, not much glory, but an important job. I put the team on my back and we had victory. And then I woke up, late for the beginning of the actual game.

I rushed into the living room and took care of priorities. Made sure the dog had his proper care, and got my coffee poured. Then, since I do not have cable and the game is not local, I scanned all the streaming sources on line and could only find an HD stream.. lagging like playing World of Warcraft on a 386. I mean I was getting about 7 frames a minute… it was ridiculous. Rodgers would drop back to pass on first down, and I would lag until the punt. It was really bad.

I turned on the game to a 10-0 defecit. The World Champions were losing to the worst team in the league last year. Clearly, I thought, they needed their #1 fan to root them on to victory. So I put on my Charles Woodson jersey and sat down to the streaming “chop-fest” that I had access to. Right away, my “magic”  began to work. Woodson had an incredible day. Two interceptions and a fumble recovery and also 5 tackles. This is a far cry from his highlights last week, which consisted of a personal foul uppercut. The man still has it, he just had to get his feet wet.

Soon enough, my team began to win. And eventually won the game by a touchdown. All was right in Titletown, and little Titletown pockets all over the country including the one here in the Miami Valley. Even Jack the Dog, who is usually nervous on Gameday, enjoyed his morning and ate several times in small amounts, and “helped” me cheer on the guys in Green .. and has yet to throw up. This is a positive sign, we are waiting for more of them. He goes to a new Vet tomorrow for second opinions. Poor little guy has lost weight again, and his skin is a bit saggier than it was a few weeks back… looks like he is wearing a suit two sizes too large. He is happy, however,  and wagging that little stumpy tail of his today. He is currently at his favorite park dragging willy nilly on the leash. I could not go due to personal pain.. but that is secondary right now. At least for today with a Packers victory and a dog eating his food, all is right in the world.

Good thing I put that Jersey on.

Leave a comment